Sun: Roberts keeping Options Open

Brian Roberts says it’s_a_wait_and_see_deal_after_next_season_with_the_Orioles.

“There comes a point in time when you’ve gone that far that you just leave all your options open,” Roberts said. “I don’t know that that would be a time to need or desire to shut all my options off. It wouldn’t mean that I couldn’t sign with them at the end of the year. … I’ve been here for a long time, and I’m willing to [stay]. Anytime the team comes to you to talk, you’re always going to listen. But that’s about as far as I can go because nothing has ever come about.”

A few quick thoughts

  • Will he be traded before he becomes a free agent? I’m sick of hearing it, you’re sick of it, and I’m sure he is too.
  • He’s willing to stay. Willing. That’s good that he’s willing to stay, but that doesn’t sound to enthusastic. I was ‘willing’ to take out the trash when I was a kid. I didn’t want to, but I did it.
  • He’s keeping his options open and that he should. He’s been with some rotten Orioles teams and should see what the O’s do in the offseason. If once the offseason wheeling an dealing was done, and the team was noticablely better (more good trades, a few free agents) AND if he was still an O, then might make his decision a little easier. Maybe in the end, he just wants to test the free agent waters.
Leave a Reply

