5/14- Sweepin’ the Sox

  • I was keeping my expectations in check until this start for Daniel Cabrera, but after today…it’s official. I was sizing up the bandwagon, but now I’m back on it full tilt. He went 7 innings against a tough hitting team against the Red Sox. He gave up 3 runs, but held tough and didn’t walk anybody. That’s seven quality starts in a row. He’s a new pitcher…and no, I’m not wanting him to keep pitching good just to trade him. In fact, Cabrera is one the few players I don’t want traded. Oh, he has caused me plenty of mental anguish and frustration…BUT (oh I’ve said these words many times before) he’s turning that corner, baby! He’s young and he’s showing what he can do. The O’s could keep him and he could burn, but you know what, I’m willing to take that chance. I’ve been through plenty of it with it him. He either becomes an ace, becomes a good but not great pitcher, or stinks. I’m willing to take those odds.
  • Luke Scott broke out for a 3 run HR last night after a wretched slump and a long bout with the flu. Then today, Jay Payton of all people, hit the go ahead Grand Slam. There’s many things I didn’t think I’d see in my life time among are                                                                                                        

                             a UFO

                             Bigfoot

                             a two-headed snake

                             a Jay Payton Grand Slam

                    It was awesome. With two outs and the bases loaded, I was predicting a shallow pop fly. Congrads Jay Payton. I like you today.

  • The O’s took 3 out of 4 against the Royals and 2 out of 2 against the Sox. The starting pitching for the team has been good, the bullpen for the most part has been outstanding. George Sherrill has 15 saves. The hitting has been feast or famine and this team has a habit of getting in close games. It’s been a blast of a season. The AL East is wide open. I don’t think this team has a shot at it for a couple reasons A) We play horrible in the second half B) I don’t trust our offense C) If you don’t think Andy MacPhail is going to use this hot start to swap off some players, you’re crazy. C is the strongest point. I think the Orioles who finish the season are going to be somewhat different then the bunch of boys you saw today. Anyone who’s over 30 is tradebait, that’s just the way it is and the the way he should do it. I want the O’s great for many seasons, not ok for 1.  With the AL East as a whole, Tampa is killing it. I’m going to make a bold prediction right now. The Rays will finish no worse than 2nd in the AL East this season. They’ve got some stud players on offense. The rotation is looking good and that bullpen I used enjoy seeing get batted around is now pretty good as well. The Red Sox are the Red Sox. They’ve got Manny and Ortiz. They got a good rotation for the most part and a surprisingly shaky pen as of late. They’ll do what they do and should finish. The Yankees have gotten old quick. They’re hurt. Their stud young pitchers have gotten batted around. I don’t think they’re bad, but I don’t think they’re that good. I’m sure this will result in the Old Yankee way coming back…spending big. Hank’s probably going to arm wrestle Angelos for Mark Teixiera in the offense. I was high on the Jays in Spring Training. They’ve got the starting pitching, there’s no doubt about that…but their offense is on the back of a milk carton at the moment. Thomas got released, Wells is out. This stuff happens. If the Rays keep healthy and their players keep progressing, I don’t see why they can’t finish 2nd.
One Response

Leave a Reply

