Freddie’s Back

(Photo AP/Rob Carr)

I never thought I’d be thrilled to see the news that Freddie Bynum is backtonight, but I am. After seeing Luis Hernandez, Brandon Fahey, and Eider Torres at short thus far this season….hey, Freddie looks great. While he’s not what I want at short, the fact that he’s not Luis Hernandez is good enough for me at the moment.
Bynum’s not a shortstop per say, but he has played good number at the position while he was in the minors. He is what he is, but if he plays decent defense and can bat .250…he’ll work for a while. Luis has 3 errors and has been in what Trembley calls “a fielding slump” all season.

“I can do anything and everything you want to do on a baseball field,” Bynum said. “If you want me to run the catcher over I can run him over. If you want me to drop kick somebody I’ll drop kick them. I am ready. I am ready to play ball.”

I’d like to see Freddie drop kick somebody, after the last 5 games it’d be something to break the monotinity of watching the punchless Oriole offense.

Leave a Reply

