What about Ramon?

There’s been all of the trade talk surrounding the dealing of Erik Bedard and Miggi, the possible trade of Brian Roberts, and the players who’ve been attained this trades that I’ve forgotten about some of the players on the team. I haven’t forgotten about Melvin Mora, Aubrey Huff, Jay Gibbons, Kevin Millar, or Jay Payton because I want them traded. I have, in fact, completely forgotten about our catcher Ramon Hernandez. Two years ago, Ramon burst on the scene for Orioles and had an awesome year hitting 23 homers and 91 RBIs. Last season was a forgetable season for him, two stints on the DL and a weak offensive season.

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. – Orioles manager Dave Trembley didn’t have to wait for the team’s first workout to get his first good piece of news this spring. Catcher Ramon Hernandez reported to Fort Lauderdale Stadium Wednesday, feeling healthy and looking in considerably better shape than he was last season.

Let’s hope so.

“Right now, it’s unbelievable,” said Hernandez when asked how he felt. “I really concentrated this offseason on working out. Even when I went home, I was working out. I’ve been taking my vitamins and I need to help my body rebuild. You just have to keep working and hopefully you’ll come in here and stay healthy.”

I’m wondering what happens with Ramon. The pure fan in me wants him to come out the gate like he did when he got here so he can win games. The rebuilding fan in me wants him to out of the gate like he did when he got here so we can trade him at the deadline for more prospects. Hopefully, Matt Wieters will be ready next season and be the catcher for the next decade or so.

I’ve liked Ramon. Last season was a rough stretch. He wasn’t in shape and didn’t show alot of hustle. Not much hustle at all. Glad he’s doing what he’s supposed to by getting shape. Athletes being in shape is usually required. Having a decent catcher is important. I think we learned that last season….with…..the Mighty Paul Bako.

That said, Bako did give me more two more highlights last season than Ramon gave me.

1. Getting elbowed in the face and plowed over at home plate by Justin Morenau and still holding onto the ball. He got his bell rung big time and got his chin ripped open, but dude stayed in the game.

2. Hitting his first homer in something like ten years against the Yankees. It was a three run shot that glorious because it was Bako and it was against the Yanks.

In the same article

Looking to add depth to their shortstop competition, the Orioles are in discussions with free agent Alex Cintron, who played the past two seasons with the Chicago White Sox.

Cintron doesn’t excite me. Better than what we’ve got….marginally. During the course of rebuilding we’re going to have to see a Cintron or two.
 

One Response

  1. Hey, I like the new look!

    Those may have beenthe two highlights of Bako’s career! He does make a good tackling dummy though.

    I like Cintron. He’s a big upgrade over what we have on the roster now for shortstop and can play second or third in a pinch.

Leave a Reply

