MacPhail Denies Trade, toys with my emotions

Great…some rain on our parade.

“We do not have an agreement with the Mariners,” MacPhail said.

Meanwhile, the actual Mariner’s website is reporting the trade. 

The Mariners apparently would send Jones, left-handed reliever George Sherrill and Minor League pitcher Chris Tillman, along with one more Minor League player, to the rebuilding Orioles for Bedard.

Here’s what Adam Jones said:

“GM [Bill Bavasi] called me yesterday and told me the news. I’ve got to go to Baltimore tomorrow morning and handle things there,” Jones told a reporter from Diario Panorama in Venezuela. “I’m the centerpiece of the deal on the Mariners side. It’s an honor to get traded for such a highly talented pitcher as Bedard is. He’s one of the best. Last year, he finished up as an arguably one of the top candidates for the Cy Young. He’s that good, so for me it’s an honor. You know, I like Seattle, but if I am in Baltimore, as I think now I am, I’m going to embrace it and have the best time of my life in Major League Baseball.”

Guess we’ll have to wait and see. This is frustrating. MacPhail in somewhat frustrating with the lack of information that he gives out. All I know is that the Seattle Times went with this. Ken Rosenthal said things were close. Adam Jones said he was flying to Baltimore because he was being traded for Erik Bedard. MLB.com has this as a story. Either it’s happened, its extremely close to happening, or this is a massive cruel joke on Oriole fans.

I dunno. I’m going to bed.

One Response

  1. A month ago we were all fitting Brian Roberts into a Cubs uniform. I’m not buying anything until all parties confirm it. Nothing is inevitable.

Leave a Reply

