That was short lived

My trade talk embargo lasted all of maybe an hour.

Bedard is resigned to be being traded.

“If they don’t want me, that’s the best thing to do,” Bedard said in a phone interview with The Sun. “Obviously, they don’t want to keep me because there are a lot more talks [about] trading me than signing me. What am I supposed to do? I just go with the flow. I’ll keep it as it is, and go with it, day by day.”

I’m a big Bedard fan, but let’s be realistic here. It’s not that he’s not wanted. It’s that the team is rebuilding and won’t be competive still for awhile. Besides, I didn’t think Bedard wanted to stay.

MacPhail disagrees with Bedard

“We wanted to talk about a multi-year deal and they suggested that they just do a one-year deal,” said MacPhail. “That’s the truth.”

Also

Pieper acknowledged that the two sides talked conceptually about a three-year pact that would have bought out one of Bedard’s free-agent years, but it never went farther than that and no formal proposal was made. Bedard made it clear today that he had no interest in pitching for a rebuilding team.

“Let’s just say, that I wouldn’t want to be in a rebuilding process because by the time my contract ends, we’re finally starting to get good,” said Bedard. “That’s the hard part of rebuilding. It takes a long time and you need a lot of patience. It’s not just me. I think everybody is [sick of losing] from the ground up.”

“There’s not an offer on the table,” Bedard said. “They’re playing it both ways. I don’t know how they go about doing their business. It’s none of my business and I don’t really care. But I would consider [an extension]. I’ve enjoyed my time in Baltimore. But everything would have to be right and it would have to be for what I believe I’m worth.”

I’m not going to throw Bedard under the bus for his comments. They’re not that bad. He’s been sitting in limbo for the offseason and wants something to happen. The team is rebuilding and by the time things are down, he will be on the downside of his career. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with his comments. He wants this resolved one way or the other just like us. As for whether he really wants a multi-year deal or not, I dunno.
 

Leave a Reply

