Duquette Resigns

Jim Duquette resigned today after two seasons with the club. Duquette had one year left on his contract, but he decided to seek a front office opportunity elsewhere.

Duquette, 41, was hired from the New York Mets after the 2005 season to work in tandem with executive vice president Mike Flanagan. However, the June hiring of president of baseball operations Andy MacPhail and MacPhail’s intention to bring in a top aide, who he is more familiar with, severely limited his role in the decision-making process with the club.

“[Andy] informed me that he had intentions on bringing on another hire to an undefined role, but one that was going to be a significant role and one that I viewed would further diminish my role here,” Duquette said this afternoon in a conference call with reporters. “That was really the impetus to ask him to accept my resignation. I appreciate his honestly, I appreciate the opportunity for me to start fresh and get myself going in a different organization.”

I never really thought Duquette was the problem. In his two seasons with the O’s, I can’t really judge him due to the two-headed gm tandem and the dark overlord Angelos looming over them. I really don’t know know what moves were Duquette’s. That being said, he seemed a lot sharper than Flannagan (who I want to resign or to be reassigned). Good luck to Dave and I hope he finds a spot in front office somewhere where he can make some moves.

In other O’s news.

JR House, Rob Bell, and the Molina catcher whose not kin to the other Molinas have been outrighted to Norfolk. In other words, they won’t be Orioles next seasons. I wish we could have seen more of House, but we won’t see anymore. He definately had a little pop in his bat than Paul Bako. Bako got 3 of his 8 RBI on his lone homerun in NY way back at the the start of the season. But with all the moves going on, let’s hope to see a little more housecleaning (Terry Crowley and Flannagan).

I’m hoping MacPhail is making this team his and cleaning out the house. Let’s wait and see what the offseason holds though.

Leave a Reply

