Closing the book on Girardi

This is my last post on Joe Girardi. Saw this in the Sun and its a good way to close the book on him.

Here’s some good quotes,

“I don’t [care] about Joe Girardi,” reliever Jamie Walker said. “I care about my teammates in here. That’s his choice. The last time I heard [about him], I think he got fired from the Marlins for something.”

I don’t think Jamie Walker gives a damn about Girardi, safe to say.

“We have a good club here,” Payton said. “If somebody doesn’t want to manage us, so be it. I’m very happy with the guy we got. I hope he gets an opportunity to be here all year and we’ll see what we can do. I respect Trem a lot and I think he’s good for this team. To be honest, I am glad that Joe Girardi doesn’t want to be our manager.”

Again, no love from Jay Payton.

Said Gibbons: “It’s not a big deal. We’ll roll with Dave Trembley. Dave Trembley is not afraid to make mistakes. He doesn’t manage scared.”

I believe that’s a slap at Sam right there.

At this point, I’d rather have Trembley manage for awhile and let the front office take their time in the search. There’s no need to hurry and scramble at the big names, then get turned down and make the team look worse. Let Trembley manage for awhile and let’s see what this guy is made out of. What’s the worse that can happen?

On the topic of the search

Among the names that have been discussed are Baker, the former Chicago Cubs and San Francisco Giants manager; Davey Johnson, the last manager to guide the Orioles to a winning season; Joey Cora, the Chicago White Sox’s bench coach; Jerry Manuel, the bench coach of the New York Mets; and Don Baylor, the former Chicago Cubs and Colorado Rockies manager. Even former Minnesota Twins manager Tom Kelly has been mentioned, but MacPhail has said it’s his understanding that Kelly isn’t interested in managing again.

Most of the candidates have ties to MacPhail, the former president of the Cubs. That includes Baker, who isn’t interested in the Orioles opening, according to two team sources. MacPhail said that he spoke to Baker yesterday morning and he’ll continue to speak with him. Baylor, who started a long and productive major league career with the Orioles, worked with MacPhail with the Cubs.

“Why wouldn’t I be interested in managing the team I started with?” said Baylor, who said he hasn’t heard from the Orioles. “Absolutely, I’d be interested. I’ve sat back and observed some things and I would love to get back in. I’ve always had passion for the game. I haven’t lost that.”

Not many names on that list excite me. Baylor, eh. Baker…that’s not happening anyway. Kelly…not happening either. Cora…could be interesting, don’t know much about him though. Manuel doesn’t thrill me, but I always thought he got a raw deal in Chicago. I’d like Johnson, but I worry about whether it could be similar to the return of Weaver.

Just let Trembley manage for awhile, what’s the worst that can happen?

It appears he has at least one backer in the clubhouse:

 So they dismissed Girardi as easily as he dismissed them, with one prominent veteran saying, “I like the guy we’ve got. I want him to stay all year,” a reference to interim manager Dave Trembley.

 Perlozzo said a few more things to say.

If a person sits back [and evaluates], you have to say the personnel wasn’t as good as we thought it was. They just didn’t perform as well as we thought they would,” Perlozzo said. “The only thing I look back on and regret is that we couldn’t look at all that together, see that and then see this through together.”

As per the bullpen, you drove them into ground Sam. Yeah, some of them didn’t work out, but you have to used to this since you’ve been with the franchise for so long. Patchwork jobs are the new Oriole Way.

As for the players, Perlozzo said he hadn’t heard from any of them since his firing was announced. When asked whether that surprised him, he said, “Yes, sir.”

That is a little shabby, I would concur.

I don’t know quite honestly that I need to talk to those guys,” he said. “I stood up for them through thick and thin, whether I liked them or didn’t like them, whether they were doing good or not doing good. I don’t need someone to stand up for me. I feel like I can stand up on my own two feet.”

If you don’t have enough good players, you are not going to be a good team,” he said. “You can make a bad team better, but you can’t make a bad team a good one. I felt like I got every ounce out of some people. And I am not saying I was perfect, don’t get me wrong, but the record is simply not an indication of what I am capable of.”

I think he’s says the team stinks.

One Response

  1. Yep. He still refuses to acknowledge how hard he worked that bullpen. That bullpen was lights out for the first six weeks or so but the main guys (Walker, Bradford, Ray, Baez…even Parrish) were all on pace for record numbers of appearances. Few relievers are able to go that hard all year. And now the performance has suffered accordingly…

Leave a Reply

