Time for a Major Change

I took a little time to cool after the Mother’s Day Massacre before I posted again. Last night I caught a couple innings of the game, but turned it off in disgust after Troy Glaus homered, so I didn’t catch Melvin Mora and Jay Payton trying to duke it out. After this fiasco I think it’s pretty clear that Perlozzo is losing or has lost this team.

It’s still pretty early in the season but we’ve got:

-2 teammates wanting to fight

-The ill-advised pulling of Guthrie

-Gibbons and Millar venting about not knowing their roles and lack of playing time

-A wore down bullpen

The worst part…it’s ONLY MAY!

I’ve tried to keep a positive vibe in my blog. When I started doing this, I didn’t want to be one of those guys who say they’re O’s fans, but trash the team and always have a negative tone. Well, after what will look like a decade of losing, I can see why many of them possess a cynical point of view. I’m not going to turn this blog into a forum of woe and O bashing, or at least I’m going to try not to. After the past two weeks, it’s been pretty easy to do so.

It’s pretty evident that this franchise needs a change. While canning Perlozzo would be start, after 9 plus years of losing, the Orioles have a climate of defeat. Getting rid of Perlozzo in all likelihood won’t magically transform the O’s into a first place time. Geting rid of Hargrove didn’t do it and neither did ditching Lee Mazilli. It’s going to take more than firing an inept manager to turn this sinking ship around.

 It’s time for an overhaul. I love this team and I’ll be a fan win or lose, but if something isn’t working it’s time to scrap it. It doesn’t matter who’s a ‘fan favorite’ or who’ll bring butts to the bleachers. In reality, attendance continues to dwindle, so fan favorites mean really nothing.

It’s time for the O’s to become sellers. We are not a player away. I’ve heard that the past few seasons. By the time we finally get THAT ONE player, all of the players we have will be in decline.

The only players who I don’t want to see traded are Nick Markakis and Daniel Cabrera. I’m leary on trading Eric Bedard, but you have to give up something to get something (reference the Florida Marlins).

I’m tired of 70-92 seasons and nothing but the status quo next season. I want to be excited about Orioles baseball again.

One Response

  1. I think you may be right. Maybe it is indeed time for a fire sale. I would agree with not getting rid of Markakis, but I’m not sure of Cabrera. I would rather hold onto Bedard. Cabrera has a lot of potential to be sure, but I’m not sure if he’ll ever reach it so we might as well sell that hope to other teams.

Leave a Reply

