What a swell Birthday present

I’m over at the folks and saw today’s recap and figured I’d throw a quickie up here.  

It’s not just Spring Training anymore… 

The O’s took down what was basically the Dodgers opening day roster 8-0

Nick Markakis had a monster day going 4 for 4 with 2 HR and 4 RBI. Tell me this kid is not going to have a monster season.

Corey Patterson batted lead-off (scary as it is, I know), went 1 for 2 and managed to get a WALK.

Miguel Tejada went 2 for 4, driving in 2.

Freddie Bynum went 0 for 1, striking out again, bringing his total to 12 strike outs in 25 plate appearences this spring. I will be massive upset if this stiff makes the 25 man.

Steve Trachsel defied my recent resentment and wenta very respectable 6 innings and allowed no runs and gave up 2 hits, 2 walks, and struck out one. So maybe it won’t be complete debacle I thought it would be.

Jeremy Guthrie went 2 scoreless frames and struck out three…

BUT Todd Williams will not be denied, although he allowed one hit….he struck the other 3 Dodgers he faced, showing that Todd Williams is a phoenix rising from last season’s ashes just to spite me and that 1.23 ERA of his proof. I’m not a believer yet, Todd…last season hurt.

Here’s your MLB.com recap.

By the way, I got a kick out of the Orioles.com headline for the recap. ‘Mark of the Beast.’ Thanks Spencer, but I think you might be trying a little too hard on that one. Does that Mean Nick Markakis is the anti-Christ?

2 Responses

  1. Markakis hitting really made me happy. And Traschel not sucking to high hell made it even better!

  2. I can’t remember a young player coming along (in Baltimore) who is this much fun to watch. Nick’s not the anti-christ but he may be our messiah…

Leave a Reply

