O’s sign Jay Payton

Jay Payton is now an Oriole.

Two years and 9.75 million total.

Here’s his numbers.

Do I think this is a good deal? Ask me in the morning… or rather in the afternoon. I have to get up freaking early tomorrow and got to head to bed. At first glance though, I hope we add someone so we can platoon him and Patterson. Thames would be nice and Patterson can sit out against some lefties and Payton can play center. I don’t think this is a rotten signing, but I’m not in love with it. It’s better than two years of Luis Gonzalez, but not by a landslide margin.

If one thing can be said, at least the front office is being active this offseason. I’ll get into this more this weekend, but I got to get a couple hours of sleep.

Leave a Reply

