Weekend Wrap

Brooks Robinson says there’s no way Mark McGwire should be in Cooperstown.

This does not thrill me. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I really don’t want to see Gonzo in Camden. Perhaps I could stomach him on a one deal, but we should not going after 40 years. I don’t want to see a Fahey/Newhan platoon either, but I’m sure there’s a younger LF option we could trade for and not have to give up much.

The O’s have added a new Gulf Coast team.

My comment about Mulder signing with the D-Backs this week was apparently wrong.  The Orioles are hot and heavy over him as you’ll find in this article.  Mulder would be a nice gamble, but he’s someone who we need to not count on carrying the team. If we sign him to say a one deal deal with a decent base salary and loaded with incentives, along with some team option years, go for it.

What are some of our less than notable minor leaguers up to? Putting up sorry numbers, for the most part, in winter ball. There’s a few doing ok. But why, oh why, is Ryan Finan and his .146 batting average the lead on this?

Out of morbid curiousity, I looked up Finan’s career numbers.

From rotoauthority.com

Orioles – Chris Ray is still The Man, but now the Orioles have numerous veteran options right behind him.  I’d think Danys Baez is the first in line. Ray’s second half decline in strikeout rate (8.1 per nine to 5.5 per nine) worries me, as does his reliance on preventing hits.

Don’t most pitchers WANT to prevent hits?

The Winter Meetings start up tomorrow. I hope for an eventful of…

Getting a new young left fielder via trade

a trade for a young blocked first baseman (Chris Shelton maybe?)

Saying goodbye to Rodrigo Lopez

If these three things happen this week, or this offseason, I will consider this offseason a resounding success.

Leave a Reply

