Where I’ve been…

I apologize for my absence lately and when I do post, the rather hurried ones I’ve done. It’s been a busy week. Me and a couple friends went to the Drive game Thursday, where they took on the Lake County Captains (Indians affiliate)and won handily.  Friday and Saturday were work days, but after work I went to the Bilo Center with some friends for a concert and stayed out pretty late. On Sunday, after church…I went up to Asheville with Chris to see the Asheville Tourists host the Lakewood Blue Claws (Phillies single A team).

Going up to Asheville was a treat. Chris has been telling me that I have to go up there and see their field. It’s quite the opposite of the Drive’s homefield. I love our new ballpark, but it’s all more of a manufactured product with our park downtown….it caters more to the downtown crowd. BUT I still love it. McCorcmick Field in Asheville is pure baseball. The Tourists are a Single-A team for the Rockies. The Park is against the side of a hill and most of the seating is bleachers. Asheville, for those of you who aren’t from my parts, is in the mountains of North Carolina. Plenty of famous baseball players have played there…Ruth and Gehrig played there, Stargell and Jackie and Robinson and a couple by the name of Ripken.

The crowd was pretty lively and you could hear everything going on all around the park. One of the cool parts of it is that the park is upstairs, so all the concessions and such are downstairs…where there’s plenty of options for food.

There was a game going on too. Let’s just say that that the Rockies’ future for pitching may not be bright judging from what I saw. It was fun though, as is any day at the park.

Daniel Cabrera pitched 7 innings last night and walked only 1. Let’s hope he makes this a habit.

Here’s the link to the Winston Abreu article I was talking about yesterday.

http://greenvilleonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060803/SPORTS/608030322&SearchID=73253258458624

Leave a Reply

