Fearless Trade Predictions

With no O’s games today and the trade deadline a week away, I’m going to go over who I think goes where and why and if they do. I’ll either look like a genius or an idiot, but I’m willing to take my chances. Without further ado, Here’s my fearless trade deadline predictions…

Bobby Abreu

The Phillies are going to trade either Abreu or Pat Burrell. Burrell has a complete no trade clause and more teams are drooling over Abreu than Burrell. To get Abreu, a team has to have pony up some money since the Phillies want to slash some cash. Naturally, the Yankees come to mind and that’s where I think he goes.

Alfonso Soriano

Soriano’s been talking about how he’d like to stay a Nat, but we all know that’s not going to happen. The Nats want to build from the bottom up and Soriano is a piece that get them some good young talent. If Soriano goes to another team, which I think he will, he’ll be in left mostly…unless he goes to the Mets. The Mets have an opening at second and I could see them giving him time at second and some time in left. As I type this ESPNews is reporting that the White Sox may be close to completing a trade for Soriano. If so, then the Tigers will do a trade for sure for Lee/Abreu and I will officially have my first wrong pick.

Carlos Lee

The Brewers are in that limbo position, hovering around the wildcard but still five games under .500. Lee looks to be too pricey for the modest budget Brewers to re-sign. Since the Tigers are looking for another bat, I’m going to say Lee goes to the Tigers.

 Greg Maddux

The Dodgers are in a tailspin, but even the worst tailspin can’t knock you out of the NL West race…just ask the D-Backs. Maddux would fit in nicely with the Dodgers as they make a post-season run.

Miguel Tejada

I don’t see Miggy going anywhere at this point. If a trade happens, it’ll happen in the off-season. I know there’s talk of the Astros making a push for him, but I don’t think Houston has the players to pull it off.

Barry Zito

Zito stays put, unless the Mets blow them away with an offer. I don’t think that will happen and the Mets can throw their millions at him in the off-season.

Dontrelle Wills/Miguel Cabrera

They go NOwhere.

Tori Hunter

ditto

John Smoltz

With Atlanta’s revived play, he’s staying with the Braves.

What about the O’s?

LaTroy Hawkins and Rodrigo Lopez will be wearing uniforms after the deadline, that’s for sure. Conine maybe. I think we’re stuck with Chen and Javy Lopez. It’ll just be some minor swaps for the Orioles…nothing to get excited about, unless they swap Benson. I don’t think they do, but with starting pitching being a need for teams the way it is, I could see a team overpaying for him or any other starter.

That’s it, hold me to it. I could be 100% wrong, but it’s a risk I’m willing to take.

Leave a Reply

