Robert’s wrong number

Raffy speaks!
This is sad. Personally, I think Raffy knew what he was going and he’s sticking with his story to the bitter end. It’s also sad that the entire team hates his apparently, but throwing your teammates under the bus like he did will do that to you.

Palmeiro said the only former Orioles teammate he has spoken to recently is second baseman Brian Roberts, whom Palmeiro called last weekend after Roberts had inadvertently text messaged Palmeiro instead of another friend.

“It was like a two-minute conversation,” Roberts said. “But it was good to see how he was doing.”

I wonder how that conversation went.
“Hey there, You looked hot tonight. Whatcha doing, sexy?.”
“What?!? Who is this? Why can’t I be left alone?”
“Uh…oh…hey…Raffy…how’s it.er..going?”
“Oh, Brian..it’s you. I’m doing All right.”
“So…you get any calls to play?”
“An independent league team offered me a try out, but I’m not fooling around with that…only Major League ball.”
“I heard that.”
Akward silence
“I’ve really taken a shine to whittling.”
“What?”
“You know, with a knife and a piece of wood. I whittled a tiger yesterday.”
“that’s…awesome.”
“I do a lot gardening too.”
“Well, I hate to do this..but I gotta run. We all miss you, big guy. We got an early flight tomorrow.”
“Trust me, I know how it is. Tell them all I said hi.”
“I will.”
“Bye.”
“Goodbye.”
Click.
“I really need to clean out my phonebook.”

Rick Maese isn’t giddy about the O’s second half prospects. Killjoy. This is the negativity I hate. Yeah, the O’s aren’t the best team and yeah we’re not not going to win the division this year…but geez, this stuff gets me ill.

-The Benson, Patterson, Hernandez acquistions were good, but they haven’t translated into wins.
-The farm system turnaround is a myth.
-More Tejada talk
-Fan apathy

Reading that was like hitting myself in the face with a hammer. Thanks Rick.
He does have some good points, but just the sheer “our team stinks” air of it ruins it all.
btw, I think I think this team would be a lot worse without Benson, Patterson, and Ramon and I think our farm system is vastly improved….but don’t reap the rewards overnight.

Jose Canseco will not fade away. Pitching and DHing? I wonder how long this lasts a week…maybe 2? Canseco is a car wreck that’s wrapped in a trainwreck and covered with a chemical spill.
Keep on driving, folks…the only things left to see here is tragedy and arrogance.

I have no pity for Jay Mariotti.
I just do not like this guy.
Ozzie Gullien needs to use his words more carefully, if you pick someone to call somebody some kind of name, well…Jay’s probably your guy.

I got a kick out of this part…

he could have gone looking for Guillen in the clubhouse. He thought about it. “But what would have happened? He could have hit me. He could have choked me. He could have just screamed at me—best-case scenario. What exactly does that serve? I refuse to be part of this flying circus. If he wants to call and meet like a man and not in front of his frat house, I’m available. But not in that circus. That’s the jock mentality, and I don’t buy into it.”

That whole bit about St.Jay not going to the clubhouse out of fear, I think it’s more out of arrogrance. Ozzie Guillen is an ass I’m sure…but I bet Mariotti is an even bigger one. In fact, I’m sure of it. At least Guillen doesn’t have those creepy waxed eyebrows.

That’s it, I’ll be back Sunday. Hope the O’s can extend the Braves’ woes and Russ Ortiz can prove me wrong.

One Response

  1. “I’ve really taken a shine to whittling.”
    “What?”

    ROFL!

    I agree about Maise too…what a negative nelly…

    Anyways, let’s go for a sweep!

Leave a comment