O’s bats pound the Rays

What a game last night Too bad my Extra Innings didn’t carry it. If I’m paying that much money too see the Orioles play, I should be able to see every game. I do have the XM radio, so I can at least listen to games. Still though…it isn’t right. Last night it didn’t matter, since my wisdom teeth were cut out and I’ve been drugged. Enough of that

Check out this boxscore
Baltimore AB R H RBI BB SO LOB AVG
Roberts, 2B 6 1 2 3 0 1 5 .300
Markakis, LF-RF 3 2 1 1 3 0 1 .333
Mora, 3B 5 3 1 1 1 0 3 .333
Tejada, M, SS 5 2 2 0 1 1 3 .400
Gibbons, RF 3 3 3 4 1 0 0 .500
Newhan, LF 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 .500
Millar, 1B 4 2 2 2 1 0 2 .500
Gomez, 1B 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000
Lopez, J, DH 5 2 2 2 0 1 3 .375
Hernandez, R, C 2 0 2 3 2 0 0 1.000
Chavez, C 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000
Patterson, CF 4 1 0 0 0 1 6 .000
Totals 39 16 16 16 9 4 23
MLB.com

The thing I was most concerned with was our offense. Last year our bats were unreliable. The first two games have given me hope. I know it’s only the Devil Rays, but after reading all this talk about how the Rays will finish ahead of us, well, I think we’re better than that.
Nick Markakis hit his first major league homerun. I did get up and manage to see it on gamecast. I’m more impressed with his ablity to draw walks. 3 walks in one game. Corey Patterson, who had a wretched debut, could learn from him. I think it’s the Washington Post article, but it mentions that Patterson swung at all 5 of his first pitches. I hope Perlozzo will keep Nick as the 2 hitter. He’s going to be a great one.
Patterson (no surprise) and Miguel Tejada(still had two hits) were the only Orioles starters not to get RBIs.

The Blue Jays lost to the Twins, The Yankees did too, but The Red Sox won.
I did manage to watch the last half of this game last night and Beckett looked really good. It also looks like Keith Foulke won’t be the Sox closer much longer.

All of this means, The Orioles have the AL East lead for at least one day.

Mora’s on hold
He’s been awesome for the past two games, which makes it hard for me to keep my opinion that we need to trade him. But I still think if we give him a 3 year deal at Ten a year at his age isn’t a good move. Especially when we need to get younger, not older. I would love for him to retire an Oriole. But if he’s traded, the Phillies look like a team that would be one of the first to call.

The farm system is getting better and better

The Orioles are interested in Brandon Phillips
Who is Brandon Phillips? He plays for the Indians and here’s his numbers. Looking at those, I don’t think any one needs to worry about losing their jobs.

An article about Nick Markakis

Doc Gooden goes to jail and finally reaches rock bottom. He’ll be celebrating the 86 World Series in jail.

Let’s close this with…
Jorge Julio is doing what he knows best in New York The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Leave a Reply

