Who’s on First? Not Javy

The great first base experiment has been put on hold. This is from the Orioles website…

I actually wanted it,” said Lopez, who went into Thursday’s game hitting just .125 in Grapefruit League play. “I guess the fact that I was working so much at first base during Spring Training, I kind of [cut] back my hitting. [Baltimore manager] Sam Perlozzo came up to me and told me, ‘It would be a good idea just to start you as a DH so you could get your timing back as a hitter.’ I totally agree with it.
Lopez had trouble adjusting to his new position, so it’s doubtful whether he’ll ever become a full-time first baseman. The three-time All-Star had a tough time with four pickoff plays in a two-week span, throwing wide of second base and pulling the shortstop off the bag.

Still, Perlozzo had said it could take as many as 75 games to get a full read on his progress. Now he’s thinking a little differently.

“The thought process is simple: We were really hoping he’d be a little better defensively — and he was, early on,” said Perlozzo. “As the games got going and he’d make a mistake, he’d let it compound. And consequently, thinking so much about his fielding, his hitting suffered. He had both things going against him, and neither one was getting up to standard.”

The Orioles, with two veterans that fit better at first base, just didn’t have that kind of time. Defensively speaking, Jeff Conine and Kevin Millar are way ahead of Lopez, but the Orioles expect them to get some additional time in left field

I don’t think he’ll ever play a regular season game at first base. He’s 35 and learning a new position doesn’t seem likely to me. I’m wondering what will happen in a few weeks. Will he still have a good attitude? He’s already said he doesn’t want to be the everyday DH. Is he going to ask to be traded again? There’s not much of a market for a 35 year old catcher making 7.5 million a year. All of this means Kevin Millar and Jeff Conine will be splitting time at first. Which I’m not crazy about, but they’ll do better at first than Javy. This puts them out of the outfield which all but ensures….

Nick Markakis will most likely stay with the club. I’m guessing that he’ll begin the season as the 4th outfielder with Matos, Patterson, and Gibbons starting. As the season progresses and Matos and Patterson show what they can do (or not do) Markakis will get his time.

This is why I like Kevin Millar being on the O’s.

Kris Benson clears the air about the Mets.

Season Previews
SI shows us no love.
Fox’s shows us where everyone figures us to be.

I’m surprised no one’s really been talking about Chris Ray this spring. I’ve heard all of the negatives about the bullpen. He’s had a great spring and after he gets a few major league saves under his belt, I think he’ll make us forget about BJ Ryan.

First AL Manager To Be Fired Or Resign
Buck Showalter (Texas) 5/1
Ron Gardenhire (Minnesota) 6/1
Mike Hargrove (Seattle) 13/2
John Gibbons (Toronto) 7/1
Buddy Bell (Kansas City) 8/1
Terry Francona (Boston) 9/1
Ozzie Guillen (Chicago White Sox) 10/1
Ken Macha (Oakland) 10/1
Jon Maddon (Tampa Bay) 10/1
Sam Perlozzo (Baltimore) 12/1
Eric Wedge (Cleveland) 25/2
Jim Leyland (Detroit) 16/1
Mike Scioscia (LA Anaheim) 16/1
Joe Torre (NY Yankees) 19/1

First NL Manager To Be Fired Or Resign
Bob Melvin (Arizona) 5/1
Dusty Baker (Chicago Cubs) 6/1
Clint Hurdle (Colorado) 6/1
Charlie Manuel (Philadelphia) 7/1
Frank Robinson (Washington) 15/2
Ned Yost (Milwaukee) 19/2
Jerry Narron (Cincinnati) 21/2
Phil Garner (Houston) 13/1
Joe Girardi (Florida) 15/1
Grady Little (Los Angeles) 15/1
Bruce Bochy (San Diego) 15/1
Felipe Alou (San Francisco) 15/1
Willie Randolph (NY Mets) 20/1
Jim Tracy (Pittsburgh) 20/1
Bobby Cox (Atlanta) 27/1
Tony LaRussa (St. Louis) 40/1
From PinnacleSports.com

I agree with the pressure being on Buck. This is about the time where he gets canned. The Rangers made a lot moves and I think this team can do some damage (though I don’t think they’re quite there yet). I think he’ll live to see another season. I think Dusty Baker’s job is less secure than Bob Melvin’s. This is his last year in Chicago if Prior and Wood can’t stay healthy, which so far they can’t. Willie Randolph is one who I think the pressure is on too. The Mets stockpiled their team with players who are more toward the end than the beginning of their career. While this team can hit, they have a short window. With that and a suspect pitching staff (outside of Pedro..who’s banged up), I don’t like their chances. John Gibbons, who I couldn’t pick out of a police line up, has to win now too. If they finish 4th, I’ll never know what this guy looks like. I also like how Sam Perlozzo is safer than Ozzie Guillen. Of course, I understand why. If the Sox start slumping, Ozzie’s act is going to wear thin. I don’t think that’ll be this season though. Terry Francona is one who could get fired easiy.

I know the whole steriod investigation started today, but Opening Day is almost here and there’s enough steriod talk that I don’t talk about it. Steriods are bad for people and the game, and that’s all I have to say until this investigation starts bringing in results.

Monday 3:05 pm Devil Rays at Orioles…It’s almost here!

4 Responses

  1. Nice blog you’ve got going here. Do you have an RSS feed?

  2. Thanks. Not sure what an RSS feed is. I’m kinda learning as I go.

  3. It’s a means for publishing your blog so when you update, people who subscribe to your feed will know there’s new content there and go to your site. Camden Chat, Orioles Magic, and the Orioles Think Tank that has your link has these features. I have all their feeds on My Yahoo!, alogn with Roch Kubato’s blog, MLB.com’s O’s section, and the Sun and WaPo’s Orioles news.

    I’ve never published a blog either, but I did find this in the Blogger.com help section:

    http://help.blogger.com/bin/topic.py?topic=36

  4. Thanks…I’ll have some spare time next week. I’ll try and see what I can do with that.

Leave a Reply

