Another Spring Loss

I did some changes this afternoon so everyone can comment, sorry about that. Big thanks to BaseballMusings.com for the link today.

As I had stated early, I’m NOT concerned about spring training results. Kris Benson got roughed up by the Fish today. Again, I’m not overly concerned. Benson is learning new pitches this spring, so he could have some brutal numbers this spring and be a better pitcher for it. If he comes out of with SIX pitches. It’ll be worth it. This is from the recap from ESPN.com

Working with pitching coach Leo Mazzone, Benson hopes to dazzle AL foes with an expansive selection of throws that will include a changeup, cut fastball and curveball.

“There really isn’t an exact science why I’m doing it. I just want to get better,” he said. “I feel like if I want to get to the next level this is what I have to do. If I get out of camp with just two of the three pitches instead of all three of them, then I’m still happy that I have two more weapons than I did in the past.”

Unfortunately, Benson doesn’t yet have command of those pitches. That’s the main reason he’s got a 9.00 ERA after two starts.

“Pretty much just everything isn’t sharp,” Benson said. “The three pitches that I’ve learned this year just aren’t where I need them to be, which is understandable. I’m just trying to get those pitches in as much as I can into a live situation. I’ve still got four or five more starts, so I’m not worried about it.”

Today’s loss drops the O’s to 2-7 and the Marlins to 8-1. Speaking of the Marlins…How many of them do you recognize? There’s a few that I’ve heard of because they’re prospects and that doesn’t count. Kerry Ligtenberg is the only Marlin I recognize. That’s from watching thousands of Braves games on TBS. Shouldn’t there be a few vets on this team to give some advice to these youngsters? I think there’s a lot of talent here, I think there’ll be some bad years here too.
I wonder how the Marlins fans feel? You got your blown apart completely for the SECOND time. Your stadium stinks. Your owner is trying to move. You got two World Series to remember. If I was a Marlin fan, I’d buy the World Series DVDs and a Devil Ray hat; cause you might need a new team to root for soon.

The USA tore up South Africa today in the WBC with Ken Griffey Jr. hitting 2 homeruns and Derek Lee going yard too. I heard part of this driving home on XM today. Barry Bonds was in the booth with Mike Schmidt and Joe Castilanno. Guess it was a PR move. Nothing of note to mention.The NETHERLANDS no hit Panama. Shairon Martis’ no hit them on exactly 65 pitches…which is the pitch limit.

Leave a Reply

