Tejada to Houston

Let the rebuilding begin.  

It finally happened, Tejada’s been traded.

Tejada goes to the Astros for outfielder Luke Scott, pitchers Matt Albers, Troy Patton and Dennis Sarfate, and third-base prospect Michael Costanzo. I didn’t see this coming. The Angels or Dodgers, sure. The Giants sounded likely….but I didn’t think the Astros had enough to make this happen. The fact that Adam Everett isn’t in this deal is all the better. Everett is a great defensive player/horrible offensive player who shouldn’t be starting for a rebuilding team.

As for what we got, some down in Houston aren’t happy. Richard Justice has this to say. It sounds like Patton and Albers could be good pieces for the team. Scott isn’t a bad player, but he’s almost 30 and I’m thinking he’ll get traded again before he put on an Orioles’ uniform. Sarfate and Costanzo are wildcards in the deal. I’m hoping this is the revenge of the Glenn Davis trade.

All in all, I’m kind of surprised this is what we ended up for Tejada. Its not a bad deal and I think we come out on the better end of this, but a year or two ago, the deal would have been better. The Mitchell report comes out tomorrow, I wonder if that’s just a coincidence.

But I’ll miss Miggi. He’s been a good player for the O’s, but he has not place on this team. He needs to be on a contending team. With the Astros, he has a better chance. I wish him the best.

I’ll do more on this over the next few days, but I wanted to get this out today….since it is kind of big news.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

