Mora may waive No Trade Clause

link

In the past, Melvin Mora was one of my favorite Orioles. He’s been an average 3rd baseman and had alittle pop in his bat. The past few seasons though, he’s worn out his welcome with me. There was the contract thing last season. I said here that they should pay him. I was wrong. In between the whining about the contract, the whining about sitting out a game or two during the season, the boneheaded freelance ingame decisions he makes, the baserunning mishaps, and the supposed tension he causes in the clubhouse; I’m ready to pay for his ticket out of town.

A few highlights from this highly laughable article

If he does return, Mora made it known that things need to change. The veteran said the Orioles’ clubhouse was divided last season.

The problem is you have people that have been in the big leagues for five, six years, and they think they own the Orioles,” he said. “They need to fix that problem. I treat everybody the same, and it’s something that I can fix if they let me fix it.”

I’m guessing this is a shot at Jay Payton. Hey Melvin, I don’t like Payton either. The problem is that I like you less.

Mora maintained that he was “cool” with Dave Trembley but said he felt disrespected when the manager sat him several times in September to get a look at recently acquired Scott Moore at third base.

I don’t want to make it seem it was Moore’s fault. This kid was hungry to play,” Mora said. “But I’ve been busting my butt for seven years in the organization. I’m a two-time All-Star, I’ve won a Silver Slugger [award]. I don’t deserve that. If I have to take that crap, I’d rather go somewhere else.”

Lot of I’s there. I like how he said that there’s people who’ve been in the big leagues 5 or 6 years and think they own the team. The next paragraph, he’s made about sitting a few games so the team could gauge a new player and he says ‘I’ve been with the O’s 7 years.’ He says he wants to see new players come in and help the team win. Scott Moore won’t be difference, but he needs to get a start or two somewhere. Just not at Melvin’s expense, I suppose.

He was also disappointed in the manager’s public criticism of enigmatic starter Daniel Cabrera. Trembley called Cabrera “unprofessional” after the pitcher threw behind the head of Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia, nearly inciting a brawl.

“What Cabrera did was wrong, and I told him that. I told him, ‘You could have killed that guy.’ But what [Trembley] said to the media wasn’t right either,” Mora said. “This is the one guy that I want to have on my team. We have five starting pitchers, and Daniel is the only guy to stay healthy and throw 200 innings. But nobody says anything about that.”

Maybe that’s because Cabrera threw a really crappy 200 innings. No one wants to say anything about that. Maybe Trembley shouldn’t have said that to the press, but this franchise has babied their players too long. Cabrera needs a kick in the pants.  I would have love to have Melvin play for Earl Weaver. Mora’s the one who went to the press and cried about not being in the lineup and not being informed a day in advance when Perlozzo managed the team. That’s unprofessional. That’s disappointing.

Mora made it known that he would be against a move to left field unless he felt it made the team significantly better. If Tejada isn’t traded, the Orioles would consider moving him to third base and Mora to left field.

I don’t want to play those games,” he said. “I’m one of the best third basemen in the American League and in baseball. If you are going to move me, you have to make the team more competitive.”

I wouldn’t classify Melvin Mora as one the best third basemen in the baseball. He’s an average one. You could do worse, but you could do a lot better.

I’m through with it. Melvin, It’s a been a good ride at times. But here lately, I can’t stand to read your quotes. I’m tired of your bellyaching and me first attitude. I hope you get dealt and I won’t have to read this rubbish anymore.

By the way, Melvin used “I” 35 times in that article. I didn’t count the “me’s.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

